33 new things before I turn 33, in 2013!

I don’t tend to make New Years Resolutions. Never have. I don’t see the point of making big declarations of life changes at the start of every year only to (statistically) abandon all efforts by the middle of February. If you were really wanting to make some kind of change in your life I’m sure any other time during the year would be just as awesome a time to start.

I understand the concept of a new year, new beginning (an excuse perhaps?) or just pure motivation people need to jump in to that new project or life direction. If you do stick to your New Years resolutions and see them out, massive High-Five to you!

I recently read a post by Sarah Von Bargen on her blog Yes and Yes entitled 34 new things before turning 34 (found via Blockodile Dundee’s awesome little blog) and it got me inspired and thinking. I like making lists, I like trying new things, I like being creative and having adventures. Could I create my own list of new things to try this year?

design your own life

I can already foresee roller derby being epically busy this year and perhaps creating a non-derby list of new things to add to my life adventures could give me that extra distraction and time out when I need it.

So yes. No resolutions per se, but a list. A list of 33 new things to do before I’m 33 in 2013. I’m not going to explain each one right now (though most are pretty much self-explanatory), once I tick each thing off the list I will hopefully document it on here as evidence I completed them all.

Some of these things are pure and simple and some will need a little more planning. I wanted to think up lots of little and achievable things so the entire list didn’t seem too overwhelming. 1 or 2 I may have done before, but a long time ago that I’ve forgotten (or want to relive) the experience.

So without further ado:

My 33 new things to do before I’m 33!

  1. Learn the Ukulele
  2. Make a cake from scratch
  3. Go to the theatre
  4. Learn how to do a proper cats eye
  5. Host a fondue party
  6. Ride the West Gate Punt
  7. Eat clean for an entire weekly
  8. Read ‘Breakfast at Tiffany’s’
  9. Use an underwater camera
  10. Bake a loaf of bread
  11. Take a Burlesque class
  12. Go up the Eureka Tower and stand in ‘the box’
  13. Get my motorbike licence
  14. Take a screen printing class
  15. Get a new tattoo
  16. Go to Luna Park
  17. Have an alcohol free month Nailed it – completed Dry July.
  18. Try stand-up paddle boarding
  19. Go Lomo
  20. Learn to knit a scarf
  21. Row a boat on the Yarra
  22. Make a piece of jewellery
  23. Learn to edit video footage
  24. Experiment with nail art
  25. Learn to make sushi
  26. Have a crafternoon with friends
  27. Take a Ride on Puffing Billy
  28. Make a pom pom garland
  29. Ride a mechanical bull
  30. Learn how to do my hair in a retro up-do
  31. Make a terrarium
  32. Dye my hair a colour of the rainbow
  33. Have a picnic at Hanging Rock

So there we have it! I have until my Birthday in December to complete the list… so *almost* a whole year…

Have you made any resolutions this year? Or created a list to challenge yourself or inspire new adventures? (or maybe you’d like to join me in mine?) I’d love to hear about it!!

5 thoughts on “33 new things before I turn 33, in 2013!

    • I like your new site layout Amy!
      Have you broken your derby goals down any further to specific ways in which to improve. I always find it easier to break them and identify the exact areas to work on to improve in my overall game 🙂

  1. Pingback: One month alcohol free. | high five to that

Leave a Reply

