One Direction

No, this is NOT a post about the boy band ‘One Direction‘ (sorry English Emma!).

I’m continually pondering what direction I want to take this blog in. I have so many ideas brewing in my headspace, I’m confusing even myself as to where to take things. I don’t want it to become a melting pot of chaotic rubbish, I would like it to house some form of consistency (even when my life doesn’t!).

With everything right now it’s all a little up in the air, but I would like to ground it. I was chatting to a fellow blogger (oh Hi Michelle! Go check out her blog Art Gluttony) who will be attending the ProBlogger training event here in Melbourne next weekend about how we’ve kind of felt like we needed help with figuring out our direction, help to motivate us and work out our reason for doing this.

The majority of things I write about (obviously) is roller derby. It’s basically my life right now, BUT it is not wholly who I am. Just speaking to derby friends last night (at another “little meeting” as Mr Akka would say!) we were talking about what I am actually interested in doing for work, or what I’ve done in that past, and I explained a little about previous study and work and a little insight of things that I love. It was interesting to have this conversation with derby folk who then realise “Oh you have this whole other life and history? You’re creative and you’ve studied things”. It’s not like I was validating myself, but it was kind of nice to say “I’m not just derby!”.

So what do I like? I like art and photography and fashion and styling. I like theatre design and mixed media design, I like outfit posts and architecture and the study of form vs function. I like food styling and social commentary. I like craft and DIY. I like family history, travel stories and reviews of all kinds. I like live music and adventures and receiving letters from friends in the mail. I like renovation shows and visual merchandising and finding happiness in the small things. Oh yeh… and I do like roller derby!

I think I just wrote my new brief for this blog. All of the above. Now to work out how to incorporate it as my own. My own voice. My own stories. Just me.

 

One thought on “One Direction

Leave a Reply

