When I say PROM you say SCREAMS…

So my first weekend in May (the month for derby) didn’t quite end up being the double-derby weekend I expected. I ended up getting a horrid head cold on the Friday morning, therefore missing my Saturday training (and guest coaches from South Seas! Boo!). By the Sunday I was more snotty then sinus-headachey so I made my way down to Rosebud for the Debutante Bout (didn’t want to miss the opportunity to bout!).

I had skated this rink before. Last year we drove over from Adelaide to stay in Rye over the Easter break and as soon as I knew where we were staying I googled what rinks were close by so I could take my skates and get in some rink time (at that stage I was still a freshie and needing as much time on skates as possible). So I remembered a little bit about the surface and what the venue was like.

I was rostered on the Prom Screams, made up of a few fellow Northsiders with the rest of the team made up of the Witches of EastVic (from East Vic – duh!) They were a top bunch of girls making us feel welcome to the team, and handing over our lovely PINK singlets to wear for the bout!


Pink Ladies in all our Hotness!!

As I’ve said before (here and here) it is interesting and a little challenging to adapt your play and strategy to work with girls you’re not familiar with. I knew some of these girls, but we’d never scrimmaged closely together before, let alone bouted! But I was excited to lend myself to their team in whatever way I could.


a sneaky Northside logo amongst the pink!

It was a little comforting that our Bench Coach and Manager were our lovely Northsiders Suzz Spender and Sin Amen Whip – friendly faces for me which helped out greatly during the day.


Lolita Daze and I the only Prom Screams on the track!

This was an East Vic vs Rosebud Rebels bout, so our rotation in the line up wasn’t high, which I was more than happy with considering the state of my health. It really was an exciting game, it was kind of hard not watch the action on the track when you were lining yourself up for the next jam on the sidelines.

It was a really close game. At one point the Screams were up by about 15, then Rosebud (Gate Crashers) caught up, then we were level 112 a piece towards the end. We got a little penalty happy (sending some of us to the box) towards the end of the bout which saw the Gate Crashers rack up the points extending their lead and taking it away 161 to our 150.

High-five to Rosebud Rebels for hosting this awesome little bout and another High-five to the girls from East Vic who let us Northsiders come join in the fun!!

There’s some extra photo’s from the bout HERE on the Rosebud Rebels Facebook page.

3 thoughts on “When I say PROM you say SCREAMS…

  1. Pingback: 1 Year Blogiversary! | high five to that

Leave a Reply

